One of most important changes for Toronto; seen here from the top of the Toronto-Dominion Bank; came on Jan. 1; 1967; when Metro was reorganized to become one city and five boroughs. In process the city of Toronto lost power on Metro Council – from its own 12 seats against the suburbs’ 12; to same 12 seats against the boroughs’ 20. But the new system seems to be working better than most people expected, 1967. Image: Boris Spremo / Toronto Star / Toronto Public Library, Baldwin Collection, Item TSPA 0108878f.

Leave a Reply